‘Films in Finite’

I’ve never considered myself to be much of a movie buff. I never watched a huge number of films and am less than keen on the thought of going to the cinema – I just can’t sit still and silent for that long. But recently, things have begun to change.

Thanks in no small part to my flatmates, I have found myself watching more and more movies as we curl up in our box room with cups of tea and hot chocolate, snacks, and multiple blankets – adorable, I know.

But it’s not just quantity that they’ve introduced me to, it’s a diversity of film that I doubt I would have chosen without them. I’m not ashamed to admit that I have a fairly linear appreciation for genres – rom-coms and sports flicks are, by and large, the staple off which I have survived for much of my life; with the occasional Fast and Furious thrown in for good measure.

This newfound adventurousness gave me an idea: why not combine writing and sharing my thoughts – something which I quite enjoy doing – with watching all these movies – something which I seem to be doing regardless.

So here I am, starting a little series about the films we watch and how much I like – or quite possibly dislike – them.

I should hasten to add that I am by no mean a barometer of quality. Love Actually is possibly my favourite ever film, while I found the supposedly amazing Benjamin Button to be the only movie to ever send me to sleep in the cinema.

That is not to say that I have poor taste – at least, I hope that’s the case – it is purely a reflection on the fact that I will not rate films on whether they are artistically beautiful, subtly crafted, or directed with aplomb. Instead I will care more about whether I actually enjoyed the film. If it’s a comedy and it made me laugh then that’s fine; it doesn’t matter that a penis joke was the cause of it. If it’s a horror and get a fright, it doesn’t matter if a cheap jump scare is what caused it. If it’s a rom-com…well, you get the picture.

At the end of the day, I watch films that I look back on and say “yeah, that was good, I don’t feel like I just wasted the last two hours of my life”.

So that is what these ‘Films in Finite’ shall be: my brief thoughts on whether a film is worth watching or not. Don’t worry, I won’t be offended if you totally disagree; most sane people tend to.

 

Image courtesy of Steve Snodgrass

Leave a Reply

